How Pings Work
Pings are like direct messages — they’re direct conversations with other users in the account.* They’re not tied to any Teams or Projects in the account.
You can ping one person or a group of people, and the conversation is only visible to the people you select. No one else can see your pings with other users — your view is unique to you.
Delete a ping the same way you delete a Campfire message: Click on
... next to the time stamp above your post.
You'll see a small red trash can, and clicking on that will let you delete your post. Poof!
You'll get a notification every time someone pings you, unless you've got that ping open on your computer or phone. (This way your phone/inbox won't blow up!) You’ll see a badge next to your “Pings” menu for any unread pings.
* The account owner owns all the content in a Basecamp 3 account, including content within pings (much like how a company email address works). For that reason, you may want to use other, encrypted tools for any sensitive, private-life conversations with your colleagues.
Next up: @mentions →