Inviting people to a project

Getting started

To add someone to a Project, Team, or Company HQ, click the Add/remove people button right beside people’s avatars.

Project page with arrow pointing to 'Add/remove people...' button

Adding people via an invitation link

Invite people to join your project by sharing the project invite link with them. Simply click the Copy button next to the link and share it with others. People can paste that link directly into their browser to join the project!

Project add/remove people page with circle around copy button

If you don't see a link, click the Generate a link button.

Project add/remove people page close up of Generate link button

Adding people one by one

From there, enter the names and email addresses of the people who should log in to Basecamp and collaborate with you. (Note: if you're working with a client, you'll add their info separately.)

Project add/remove people page with arrow pointing to Name cell

Organizations and Companies

When you invite a user into the account, you can make them part of an organization or company. Just type the name of the organization into the invitation screen, and Basecamp creates it on the spot.

Project add page with arrow pointing to organization cell

Or, you can choose from an organization that's already on the account. Just start typing the name and that option will appear!

Project add page with arrow pointing to organization cell and an auto-filled organization name

Adding people from the same organization or company in bulk

To add a bunch of people from the same company at once, click the add everyone from… dropdown at the top of the page, and select the company you’d like to add people from.

Project add/remove people page with circle around 'add everyone from...' select menu

Any members of that company (who weren't already on the project) will now be shown in the list of people to invite. You’ll have a chance to adjust the list and remove individual people before sending out invitations. Just click the red 'X' next to a person’s name to skip inviting them.

Project add/remove people page with arrow pointing to 'remove' button next to person

Note: When adding people, you'll only see those who you already share a Project, Team, or Company HQ with. However, admins can see everyone from their company.

Changing someone’s info

Notice an incorrect email address, or have the wrong name or job title for someone? No problem! You can fix mistakes like that by clicking the pencil icon beside the person whose info you need to change.

Project add/remove people page with arrow pointing to 'edit' button next to person

From there you'll be able to tweak their info before inviting them to the project.

Note: Once someone has joined Basecamp, you won't be able to update their name or email address anymore. The only people who can edit someone's info are admins or the person who originally invited them.

Sending invitations

When you’re all set, hit the Send invitations button to invite everyone on the list. They’ll get an email with a link to the project and a summary of what's happened so far:

Example invitation email

Resending an invitation

If one of your users lost their invitation email, or can't remember how to log in, you can help them out!

Click on the Add/remove people button at the top of your project page.

Project page with arrow pointing to 'Add/remove people...' button

You'll see everyone in the project, and beneath their names, you'll have the option to "Send a link to log in."

Project add/remove people page with arrow pointing to 'Send a link to log in' link under person

Voila! We'll send an email to your user who hasn't accepted their invitation. If they have accepted the invitation already, they'll get linked straight to the login screen.

Next up: Adding clients →