Sharing items with people inside and outside Basecamp
You don't need to invite someone to your account in order to share something with them! Anything can be shared directly with anyone else, whether they're in the Basecamp account or not.
By default, everything is locked down — only people with access to a Project or Team site can see what's in it. But occasionally, you need to send something to someone who’s not part of a Project, or show someone something specific when you don’t want them to see the rest of the project. Super simple in Basecamp 3!
Just click the
••• button for the item you want to share and choose how you want to share it.
You can share it with someone outside the Project, or just bring it to the attention of someone else in the Project (ideal for when you want to point out the item's existence, without adding a comment or assigning a task).
If your account package includes the Clientside feature, you'll also see the option to share the item with the client.
To share it with someone outside the Project, click on the
Get a public link... option, then on the
Generate a shareable, public link button.
Copy that link, and text/email/carrier pigeon it to whoever needs to see it! You can click the
See what the public page looks like link to see what they'll see, or the
Turn this link off so it won't work anymore link to revoke public access to the page, and the URL won't work anymore.
Any comments on the item will not be shared. Only the original item is shared publicly; comment threads are not included via the publicly shared link.
Great job, you reached the end of the guide! Have you read all of them?