Clicky

Hey, what’s this I heard about a newer version of Basecamp?

There’s Basecamp Classic, the original version and a newer, totally redesigned Basecamp.

What's new in the new Basecamp?

Basecamp was just reimagined and redesigned from the ground up. Take a look at how easy the new Basecamp is.

Does the new Basecamp replace our current Basecamp?

Nope. Your existing Basecamp account stays the same. The Basecamp you've been using has been renamed Basecamp Classic. The all new Basecamp is now called Basecamp. Both versions will live side by side as separate products. You can continue to use Classic, you can switch to the new Basecamp, or you can use both of them together. It's up to you.

Do I get a new Basecamp account automatically?

No. You only get a new Basecamp account if you want one. If you don't do anything, or you don't care about the new Basecamp, everything remains the exact same for you. If you do want to try the new Basecamp, follow this simple step-by-step guide to get started.

Are we going to be forced to move to the new Basecamp?

Nope. Switching to the new Basecamp is entirely optional for current Basecamp Classic customers. No one is being forced to switch or even forced to try the new Basecamp. Basecamp Classic is not going away. If you prefer Classic you can keep using Classic.

Can we try the new Basecamp with our current projects to see what it's like before deciding if we want to switch?

Absolutely. If you're a current Basecamp Classic customer, you'll get an unlimited-usage 60-day free trial on the new Basecamp. Check out our step-by-step guide to see how to import copies of your current projects into the new Basecamp.

If I start using the new Basecamp, what happens to my current Classic account?

Nothing changes in your current account. All your data, projects, users, files, and everything else are untouched. Everything is the same as it always was. Classic and the new Basecamp don't share data - they are completely separate products. Changes in one won't affect the other. You can keep using both together or pick one after your free 45 day trial on the new Basecamp.

Can we use both Classic and the new Basecamp together?

If you'd like, yes. For example, you can continue to use Classic for your existing projects but start up new projects using the new Basecamp. Or you can dive right into the new Basecamp and copy all your Classic projects over. It's entirely up to you. What you do in Classic has no effect on the new Basecamp and vice versa.

Can we move our projects from one to the other?

You can import projects from Classic into the new Basecamp, but you can't import projects from the new Basecamp back into Classic. The import is one-way from Classic into new. You can choose to copy projects one at a time or all at once. It's entirely up to you. When you copy a project from Classic to the new Basecamp, it's archived in Classic for safe keeping. Nothing is deleted in your Classic account.

Will all of our project data be moved over?

The new version of Basecamp no longer supports message categories. While all of your projects, files, and data will smoothly transfer over from your Classic account, any message categories will be lost.

What happens to our users? Clients?

If you decide to import projects from Classic into the all new Basecamp, we'll copy your users over at the same time. People will only have access to see the projects they could see before - no one sees any projects in the new Basecamp that they couldn't see in Classic. If someone was an admin in Classic, they'll be an admin in the new Basecamp too. Your users will be able to log into the new Basecamp with the same username and password they used to log into Classic.

Is data shared/synced between the versions or are they separate? Do changes appear in both accounts?

Data in Classic is separate from data in the new Basecamp. A change in one doesn't affect the other. If you copy a project from Classic into the new Basecamp, it's just a copy - the original stays in Basecamp Classic. If you decide to manage the project using the new Basecamp, the version in Classic stays just as it was before you copied it over.

Are the features in Classic and the new Basecamp the same? What's different?

Classic and the new Basecamp are entirely different products. They have a similar set of core features (to-dos, messages, files, and a calendar), but the features are executed differently in each product. The new Basecamp also includes dozens of brand new features that Classic doesn't have, but it also doesn't have some of the features that Classic has. For example, at launch the new Basecamp doesn't include time tracking. Over time we'll be adding more features to the new Basecamp. At this time we're not sure if we'll be adding time tracking. We may decide to integrate tightly with an excellent third party time tracking product, we just aren't sure right now.

Do both versions have the same URL? Can we use the same subdomain on the new Basecamp?

Your Basecamp Classic URL (which looks like yoursubdomain.basecamphq.com) stays the same. New Basecamp accounts are hosted on the basecamp.com domain. New Basecamp accounts don't have subdomains, so all accounts are at basecamp.com.

If we use both, do we have to pay for both?

Depending on which plan you have, the all new Basecamp is either totally free or deeply discounted for you. Review the special pricing page to see how it works. The discount is automatic, too.

If I don't like the new Basecamp, can I switch back?

Regardless of what you do in the new Basecamp, all your data in Classic remains safe in Classic. If you try the new Basecamp for 60 days, and you just don't like it, you can just go back to using the Classic account you already had. You can just pick up where you left off. Everything that was there is still there - all your projects, data, users, etc.

Will you continue to improve Classic?

The majority of our design and development efforts moving forward will be focused on the all new Basecamp, but we'll continue to support Classic as long as customers continue using it. We expect that to be for many many years.

Do you have a public roadmap detailing future planned features of the all new Basecamp?

When designing new features, we make sure they’re very well built and super easy to use. You can stay up to date every time we announce something new for Basecamp.